Vienna Biennale for Change 2021: PLANET LOVE. Climate Care in the Digital Age

With its motto PLANET LOVE the VIENNA BIENNALE FOR CHANGE 2021 is dedicated to the greatest challenge of our digital age: climate care. PLANET LOVE means a fundamentally new relationship between people and planet, which aims at using the Earth’s resources considerately rather than maximizing their exploitation, and whose approach is characterized by humility, respect, and appreciation of its biological diversity and beauty. Climate care is considered a central aspect of PLANET LOVE and goes far beyond decarbonizing the economy and society: it encompasses the question of how we can build a sustainable foundation for our relationship to the Earth and always involves a social dimension.

The VIENNA BIENNALE FOR CHANGE 2021 with its title PLANET LOVE. Climate Care in the Digital Age will open on 27 May 2021. In exhibitions and discussion projects its organizers—the MAK, the University of Applied Arts Vienna, the Kunsthalle Wien, the Architekturzentrum Wien, and the Vienna Business Agency, as well as the KUNST HAUS WIEN as a new partner and the AIT Austrian Institute of Technology as a non-university research partner—are bringing together visionary designs and exceptional ideas by artists, designers, and architects who make a radical change to our societies and economies irresistible in the interests of PLANET LOVE and sustainable climate care.

The VIENNA BIENNALE FOR CHANGE 2021 aspires to fire our imaginations, promote the vision of ecosocially sustainable societies and economies, and offer innovative ideas and solutions: to mitigate the climate crisis, to restore and preserve ecosystems, to maintain biodiversity, and to use digital technologies for the benefit of the climate and environment. It not only encourages visitors to stop and reconsider but also demands that every sociopolitical force and every individual take resolute action to overcome the climate and ecological crisis.


Vienna Biennale

The Vienna Biennale is the first event of its kind to combine art, design, and architecture, with the aim of generating creative ideas and artistic projects to help improve the world. Its category-spanning, interdisciplinary approach and combination of artistic ambition and the creative economy open up new perspectives on central topics of our time and thus promote positive change in our society. The Vienna Biennale was established with the understanding that we are living in a new modernity in which the digital revolution penetrates all areas of our life and is thus fundamentally changing our civilization. Today's Digital Modernity offers considerable potentials for lasting improvements in quality of life as well as innovative living concepts and business models in every sector.


Vienna as a Location for Experimentation

This new biennale in Vienna was established with the recognition that Vienna was one of the centers of the previous era of Western Modernity around 1900, from which significant impulses emerged whose effects in some cases continue to be felt to this day. Thus, Vienna can be seen as an authentic, credible location for the search for new paths to positive change. By following in this extraordinary tradition of experimentation, the Vienna Biennale aims to find answers to today's most important issues and utilize the potentials of the creative revolution in order to offer people new insights for crucial areas of life.

The Vienna Biennale was born of the conviction that Vienna is the right place to develop a new, coherent, and unique biennale. The focus will be on people, who need one thing above all in times of radical change: orientation!

 

DOWNLOAD VIENNA BIENNALE GUIDE


We use cookies to make our website as user-friendly as possible, to enable us to offer social media features, and to analyze the traffic on our website.

Vienna Biennale for Change 2021: PLANET LOVE. Klimafürsorge im Digitalen Zeitalter

Unter dem Motto PLANET LOVE widmet sich die VIENNA BIENNALE FOR CHANGE 2021 der Mega-Herausforderung des Digitalen Zeitalters: Klimafürsorge (Climate Care). PLANET LOVE meint eine grundlegend neue Beziehung der Menschen zur Erde, die statt maximaler Ressourcenausbeutung auf schonende Nutzung der Erde zielt und von Demut, Respekt und Wertschätzung ihrer biologischen Vielfalt und Schönheit getragen ist. Klimafürsorge wird als zentraler Aspekt von PLANET LOVE reflektiert und geht weit über die Dekarbonisierung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft hinaus; sie umfasst die Frage, wie wir unsere Beziehung zur Erde auf ein nachhaltiges Fundament stellen können, und hat stets auch soziale Dimensionen.

Die VIENNA BIENNALE FOR CHANGE 2021 mit dem Titel PLANET LOVE. Klimafürsorge im Digitalen Zeitalter eröffnet am 27. Mai 2021. Ihre Veranstalter – MAK, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Kunsthalle Wien, Architekturzentrum Wien und Wirtschaftsagentur Wien sowie das KUNST HAUS WIEN als neuer Partner und das AIT Austrian Institute of Technology als außeruniversitärer Forschungspartner – versammeln in Ausstellungen und Diskurs-Projekten visionäre Entwürfe und herausragende Ideen von KünstlerInnen, DesignerInnen und ArchitektInnen, die einen radikalen Wandel unserer Gesellschaften und Volkswirtschaften im Sinne von PLANET LOVE und nachhaltiger Klimafürsorge unwiderstehlich machen.

Die VIENNA BIENNALE FOR CHANGE 2021 will unsere Vorstellungskraft beflügeln, die Vision von ökologisch-sozial nachhaltigen Gesellschaften und Ökonomien vorantreiben und innovative Ideen und Lösungsansätze anbieten: zur Milderung der Klimakrise, zur Sanierung und Bewahrung von Ökosystemen, zum Erhalt der Artenvielfalt und zum Einsatz digitaler Technologien zugunsten von Klima und Umwelt. Sie regt nicht nur zum Innehalten und Umdenken an, sondern fordert von allen gesellschaftspolitischen Kräften und jedem Einzelnen entschlossenes Handeln zur Bewältigung der Klima- und ökologischen Gesamtkrise.


Vienna Biennale

Die Vienna Biennale ist die erste Biennale, die Kunst, Design und Architektur verbindet und darauf abzielt, mit kreativen Ideen und künstlerischen Projekten zur Verbesserung der Welt beizutragen. Ihre spartenübergreifende, interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung und ihre Verklammerung von Kunstanspruch und Kreativwirtschaft eröffnen neue Perspektiven zu zentralen Themen unserer Zeit und fördern damit einen positiven Wandel unserer Gesellschaft. Die Vienna Biennale wurde in der Erkenntnis gegründet, dass wir in einer neuen Moderne leben, in der die Digitalisierung alle Lebensbereiche durchdringt und damit unsere Zivilisation in grundlegender Weise verändert. Die heutige sogenannte Digitale Moderne schafft erhebliche Potenziale für nachhaltige Verbesserungen der Lebensqualität und innovative Lebensentwürfe sowie Geschäftsmodelle in allen Sektoren.


Wien als Ort des Experiments

Die Gründung einer neuen Biennale in Wien erfolgte im Bewusstsein, dass Wien in der Zeit um 1900 eines der Zentren der früheren westlichen Moderne war, von dem maßgebliche, zum Teil bis heute nachwirkende Impulse ausgingen. Wien gilt daher als authentischer, glaubwürdiger Ort für die Suche nach neuen Wegen für einen positiven Wandel. In Anknüpfung an diese herausragende Tradition des Experiments sucht die Vienna Biennale Antworten auf die großen Themen der Gegenwart und nützt die Potenziale der Kreativrevolution, um den Menschen neue Erkenntnisse für zentrale Lebensbereiche an die Hand zu geben.

Die Vienna Biennale entspringt der Überzeugung, dass Wien der richtige Platz für die Entwicklung einer neuartigen, schlüssigen und unverwechselbaren Biennale ist. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei der Mensch, der in einer Zeit radikalen Umbruchs vor allem eines braucht: Orientierung!


Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Website möglichst benutzerfreundlich zu gestalten, Funktionen für soziale Medien anbieten zu können und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren.